About Us

Who are the Straw Dogs?

Steering Committee

Board of Directors

Alexis Johnson
Rick Paar
Mary Ann Scognamiglio
Stephanie Shafran

Board Officers

President: Jacqueline Sheehan
Clerk: Macci Schmidt
Treasurer (ex officio): Becky Jones
Ellen Meeropol

Advisory Board

Carol Connare
Patricia Lee Lewis
Richard Michelson
Bill Newman
Jane Yolen
Leslea Newman

Finance Committee

Macci Schmidt
Mary Ann Scognamiglio

Program Committee

The Program Committee seeks out and schedules programming for Straw Dogs members and the greater writing community. We strive to provide a wide variety of presentations and discussions regarding craft, navigating the profession, inspiration and the writing life. The program committee particularly encourages presenters from groups that have been underrepresented in writing and publishing communities. Propose a program here

Michael Goldman – Chair
Becky Jones
Judy McIntosh
Rick Paar
Anna Smith
Vati Sreiberg


Writers Night Out

Rick Paar
Jacqueline Sheehan
Beth Filson

Emerging Writers Fellowship Committee

Liz Bedell
Ellen Meeropol
Macci Schmidt
Fungai Tichawangana

Publicity Committee

Tzivia Gover
Mark Luebbers
Nerissa Nields
Macci Schmidt

Valley Society

Christopher J. Sparks


Arianna Alexsandra Collins, Administrative Director

Robin Glenn, newsletter